Orientation — They Ain’t Playing Around

As expected, I couldn’t sleep last night… tossing and turning all night wondering what my first day at school would be like – meeting some instructors, administration, and of course my classmates.

I entered the building behind what I figured to be another orientation attendee and followed the sign up one flight. I filled out some paperwork, took a photograph for my ID, picked up a duffel bag full of uniform goodies and my Level 1 course book, and sat in the second to last row of the demo classroom they had us all waiting in. Of course, they had coffee and pastries for our arrival. I wasn’t hungry and didn’t try one but these clearly were no McDonald’s Apple Pie caliber treats. They were flaky, magnificent looking bundles of butter and flour.

So of course I’m peering around, eye stalking those that slowly continue to make their way in. It’s a pretty mixed group – half guys and half girls mostly around my age – totaling only about 16 people. Everybody was pretty quiet, I’m sure thinking about the fact we’d all potentially be best friends or competitive enemies in a matter of weeks. We all had to introduce ourselves, state where we were from, and our most recent favorite meal. A few highlights from this portion – the guy who I thought was the oldest in the class (looked well over 35 to me) but was a “25-year old gypsy from Israel” who loves food and music.. oh, and is a CEO in his spare time. Or the kid who answered that his most favorite recent meal was a croissant from Dunkin’ Donuts. Nobody was snobby at all in their responses to look down on what he said, but we definitely burst out laughing. DD, really?! At least say Vie de France.

The remaining time was spent going over school policies, etiquette, career services, locker assignments, grading, activities – the norm. But this is some serious business! Attendance is pretty much mandatory – the few days you are allowed off throughout the 9 months should be dedicated to health or personal emergencies. Clearly stated – “We are strict and unforgiving.” No mental health days, no long weekends away. Not when you’re paying this much money and can potentially miss out on a huge amount of hands-on class time. This is not like college where missing a class was easy to makeup via some friends notes or reading a few chapters. They are also sticklers about sanitation and your appearance in the kitchen – hair tied back, no perfume, short nails sans nail polish, an always pressed and spotless chefs coat. My favorite statement was directed toward the gents (and hopefully none of the girls) regarding beards. Yes, beard hair can float into your food just as head hair would. If it’s not kept neatly trimmed, you might be required to wear a beard gaurd. I had to Google what that even was – pretty much a hair net for your lower face. So sexy!

Grading is also scrupulous. Missing class or being a minute late – immediately docked. Stained or wrinkled chefs coat? Warning, and docked.  Do we take direction well? Do we pay attention? Do we ask questions? All of that. Plus, we’ll have practical and written examinations that factor in as well so get ready to whip out and study from those index cards like its 2001.  I was a little bummed to hear we can’t have cell phones – of course, I don’t need to make phone calls or check email – but was hoping I could take photos of what I’m making to post. I think we may be allowed to do so with permission from the chef instructor at the end of class, but we’ll see what happens.

I perused through the Level 1 course book which to say the least got me so excited. It’s definitely the basics – intro to a professional kitchen, sanitation, and knife work (yes, we may get homework on this…) and then moving on to sauces, stocks, soups, food preservation, salads, the potato (an entire lesson dedicated to a potato!! amazing), and introductory techniques for fish, shellfish, poultry, beef, pork, and lamb. Here I come duck confit, codfish fritters, braised flounder with white wine, shallots, and cream, seared scallops with parsley coulis, pan roasted quail with rice and sausage stuffing in a Gaufrette potato basket, and marinated lamb chops with vegetable ragout. Sounds terrible, right?!

We learned of a few other fun perks — free loaves of bread (well you donate $1) from the bread school leftovers, family dinner where we get to eat the yummy products of level 4 students, amazing chef demos (Jose Andres just joined as the fifth dean so he’ll be up soon), volunteer opportunities at the James Beard House, dining and culinary shopping discounts, and much more.

Essentially, they want us to work our asses off and have a thick skin but also have a ton of fun and to make new friends. Everybody walked out with a huge smile on their face, finally chit-chatting with excitement for us to begin on Monday. Final bonus – the canapes brought down by daytime students – for us to sample on our way out. I grabbed one – not a clue what was on it before I inhaled it — but if that was any indication of what’s to come, I’m in for a delicious ride.

Leave a comment